The "Little Church" is located at the corner of South Park Drive and West Street, on the bank of the picturesque Brandywine River in Wilmington, DE.
Museum Properties: The Old First Presbyterian Church of Wilmington, now affectionately know as "The Little Church" was built in 1740 occupying one side of Rodney Square. Other than when British troops occupied Wilmington in 1777 using it as an army hospital, it remained a house of worship for 100 years.
In 1840, a larger 1st Presbyterian church was built to accommodate a growing congregation and in 1878 the original church was used by the Historical Society of Delaware for exhibits and lectures. Later the NSCDA of Delaware rented space for meetings. When the Presbytery sold its old "Little" Market Street property, the building was given to The National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in the State of Delaware (NSCDA-DE) with the provision that they move, maintain and use it for historical and patriotic purposes. Since the building could not be moved intact due to overhead trolley wires, in 1916-1918 it was carefully taken apart and reconstructed on it's current site. 2018 marks 100 years of its preservation! The building is on The National Register of Historic Places.
This historic landmark is the headquarters of NSCDA-DE, housing their archives and providing meeting space.
It is open to the public the second Sunday of every month from April through October from 2:00 to 4:00 PM.